inliven / nutrition / recipes / superfoods

Mango Coconut Superfood breakfast bowl

 

Let’s kick off with a delicious bowl of yumminess- Mango Coconut Breakfast Bowl. This is what I started my day with on this beautiful sunny California morning. Sitting out on our balcony surrounded by tall pine trees and busy birds. Remembering my gratitude before I dove straight in.

photo-13

I have to be honest, I am not eating 100% Organic. Right now is about 85%. We have an amazing fruit stand nearby and I feel pretty good when rummaging through the bargain bags for fruit that’s slightly too ripe for most people. I hate waste and I am proud to admit i used to be a pretty skilled bin diver around my old neighbour in Leeds, UK.  Yesterday my beloved came back with 2 mangos, 4 bunches of bananas, 4 bags of apples and a pound of peaches for $5!!! You can’t beat that!

So today I gave thanks to the Mango. 1 mango contains 100% of the RDA of vitamin C, it has high levels of vitamin A and potassium (for heart health and blood pressure). Flavonoids (betacarotene, alphacarotene, and beta-cryptoxanthin) help the vit A do its work for skin and eye health. Carotenes are the yellow pigment and there are 3 types including beta-carotene. They are antioxidants and are the precursor of vitamin A made within the body. I might do a more in-depth post on antioxidants as I have been learning a lot about them recently but basically they help combat free radicals which are carcinogenic. Mangos have been found to be particularly effective on breast and colon cancer cells in vitro (test tube). So lets celebrate the abundance coming in from Mexico right now as the mango season kicks off and get blending!

Mango Coconut Breakfast Bowl Recipe

1 x mango

1 x banana

1 x tbsp of desicated cococnut

1 x tbsp of hulled hempseeds

2 x tbsp of Miessence Protein Powder

1 x handful of mung bean sprouts

1 x tsp of Inliven probiotic blend

topping

2 x crushed raw cacao beans

fresh pomagranate to taste

desicated coconut to taste

One thought on “Mango Coconut Superfood breakfast bowl

  1. Did I just spot “1 x tbsp of hulled hempseeds” ?! 😀 I’m definitely trying this. You actually had me at Coconut. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

